Organisation Structure

Director General

The Director General is the head of the National Statistics Office and has the legal representation of it. The Malta Statistics Authority Act, 2000 makes provisions for this position in Article 9.

NSO staff

The National Statistics Office (NSO) is structured in four directorates: Economic and Business Statistics, Social and Regional Statistics, Data Capability and Corporate Services.  The first two directorates are directly responsible for statistical subject-matter domains.  The Data Capability directorate is tasked with assisting domain units in data management and methodological issues whilst helping the office reach a higher degree of efficiency in terms of processes and IT infrastructure.  The Corporate Services directorate provides lateral support to all units for matters related to human resources, finances and risk compliance.  Two units – External Cooperation and Dissemination – fall under the direct responsibility of the Director General.

Director General

International Affairs
​Institutional Affairs

Corporate Services Directorate
​Personnel and Budgetary Matters
​Risk Management and Compliance
Economic and Business Statistics Directorate
National Accounts​
​Public Finance
​Balance of Payments
​International Trade Statistics
​Price Statistics
​Structural Business Statistics
​Short-term Statistics
​Environment, Energy, Transport and Agriculture
​Business Registers
​Social and Regional Statistics Directorate
​Social and Cultural Statistics
Labour Market Statistics
Tourism, Education and Information Society
​Population and Migration Statistics
​Regional and Geospatial Statistics
​Data Capability Directorate
​Methodology and Research
IT Systems
Data Management